top of page

Ryback Regimen LLC Group

Public·9 members

Exciting topic this week. Self-talk! Some of you know I am currently studying to get my NASM CPT. The new Chapter I am reading is about Behavioral Coaching. So far the chapter has covered data tracking, goal setting, and motivation. But the negative self-talk jumped out to me. As an ex-collegiate athlete, I've been there many times. Hopefully some of the tips from the chapter and my past experiences give your kids some strategies to flip negative self-talk into positive.

Strategy 1: Avoid "Not"

Some common phrases when athletes are struggling are "I can't do this" or "I'm not good enough." Simply removing the "not" from the sentence completely flips the meaning and state of mind. "I can do this", "I am good enough", "I'm the best", "I worked hard for this, I'm ready." Give it a shot. It seems like players these days almost find it cool to throw helmets or call themselves bad. Maybe they think calling themselves bad helps to avoid someone else doing it? Either way it's not helping. Never has, never will. Not to mention it's childish and embarassing. Embarassing for the family, the program, and the player. So let's avoid the word "not."

Story 1: NJAC POY